Final Documents

Project | Capital Accumulation Plans
Initiative/Project Name: Capital Accumulation Plans
Description: In these guidelines, a capital accumulation plan (CAP or plan) is a tax assisted investment or savings plan that permits the members of the CAP to make investment decisions among two or more options offered within the plan. The intent of these guidelines is to:

  • outline and clarify the rights and responsibilities of CAP sponsors, service providers and CAP members; and,
  • ensure that CAP members are provided the information and assistance that they need to make investment decisions in a capital accumulation plan.

Document Date Published
CAP Q & A January 29, 2010
News Release April 20, 2009
CAP Brochure April 1, 2005
CAP Guidelines May 28, 2004

 

Project | Product Disclosure and Regulation
Initiative/Project Name: Product Disclosure and Regulation
Description: The Joint Forum undertook an initiative to examine the responsibilities of financial product manufacturers, intermediaries and consumers to ensure that Canadian consumers are offered suitable products and are able to make informed decisions. The initial focus of the initiative was on product manufacturers, their risk assessment and product disclosure practices as they relate to consumers. Based on its work, the Joint Forum Product Disclosure and Regulation Committee has prepared a report on financial product development standards and practices consisting of:

  • A research paper on current requirements, standards and practices for product manufacturers in  the United Kingdom, United States and Canada;
  • A summary of findings based on the research paper and reports by the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association (CLHIA) and the Investment Funds Institute of Canada (IFIC) on practices and processes for product development for individual variable insurance contracts (IVICs) and mutual funds, respectively; and
  • A list of other financial products which could be looked at.

Final Documents Date Published
Financial Product Development Standards and Practices April 2, 2013

 

Project | FSON - Framework
Initiative/Project Name: FSON - Framework
Description: This framework and its attachments describe a framework for ongoing collaboration among the regulators of the financial services industry, both federal and provincial, and the OmbudServices which make up the Financial Services OmbudsNetwork (the FSON), namely the Ombudservice for Life and Health Insurance (OLHI), the General Insurance OmbudService (GIO) and the Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments (OBSI).
Final Documents: Date Published
FSON Framework August 10, 2007

 

Project | Point of Sale
Initiative/Project Name: Point of Sale
Description: The framework describes the elements of the Joint Forum's point of sale disclosure system, including a new mandatory fund summary document called Fund Facts, to be delivered to investors before they buy a fund, and a new simplified "cooling off" right for an investor to cancel a purchase.
Final Documents: Date Published
Framework 891-406 POS Disclosure October 24, 2008
Letter to Stakeholders October 24, 2008
Background Summary October 24, 2008
News Release October 24, 2008

 

Project | Practice Standards
Initiative/Project Name: Practice Standards
Description: The Joint Forum statement of Principles and Practices for the Sale of Products and Services in the Financial Sector has been developed by regulators from all jurisdictions except Quebec and across all financial product sectors. It is expected that these principles and practices will be incorporated into the codes of conduct of financial industry associations and followed by all financial intermediaries in the distribution of financial products and services.
Final Documents: Date Published
Final Principles and Practices January 28, 2005
Consumer's Guide January 28, 2005
News Release January 28, 2005
Backgrounder January 28, 2005
Letter to Stakeholders January 28, 2005

Documents Approuvés

Projet | Régimes de capitalisation
Nom d'initiative ou projet: Régimes de capitalisation
Description:

Dans ces lignes directrices, un régime d'accumulation de capital est un régime d'aide fiscale à l'investissement ou régime d'épargne qui permet à ses participants de prendre des décisions d'investissement parmi au moins deux options offertes dans le régime. Les présentes lignes directrices ont les objectifs suivants :

  • Expliquer et clarifier les droits et responsabilités des garants d'un régime d'accumulation de capital, des fournisseurs de services et des participants à un régime de ce genre;
  • Veiller à ce que les participants à un régime d'accumulation de capital obtiennent l'information et l'aide dont ils ont besoin pour prendre des décisions d'investissement éclairées dans un régime d'accumulation de capital.
Documents approuvés: Date de publication
Foire aux Questions - Régimes de capitalisation le 29 janvier 2010
Communiqué de presse le 20 avril 2009
Régimes de capitalisation - dépliant le 1er avril 2005
Lignes directrices le 28 mai 2004

 

Projet - RCSF - Cadre de travail
Nom d'initiative ou projet: RCSF - Cadre de travail
Description: Ce cadre de travail et ses annexes décrivent un plan de collaboration continue entre les autorités de réglementation de l'industrie des services financiers, aux paliers fédéral et provincial, et les services de conciliation qui forment le Réseau de conciliation du secteur financier (RCSF), à savoir l'Ombudsman des assurances de personnes (OAP), le Service de conciliation en assurance de dommages et l'Ombudsman des services bancaires et d'investissement.
Documents approuvés: Date de publication
RCSF - Cadre de travail le 10 août 2007

 

Projet - Information au moment de la souscription
Nom d'initiative ou projet: Information au moment de la souscription
Description: Le cadre de travail décrit les éléments du système de divulgation d’information au moment de la souscription des organismes de placement collectif et des fonds distincts mis au point par le Forum conjoint, y compris un nouveau résumé obligatoire du fonds intitulé « Fund Facts » (faits sur le fonds) qui doit être remis aux investisseurs avant qu'ils n'achètent un fonds, ainsi qu'un nouveau droit simplifié de « réflexion » qui permet à un investisseur d'annuler un achat.
Documents approuvés: Date de publication
Cadre propose 81-406 le 24 octobre 2008
Letter aux intervenants le 24 octobre 2008
Sommaire de contexte le 24 octobre 2008
Communiqué de presse le 24 octobre 2008

 

Projet - Normes de pratique
Nom d'initiative ou projet: Normes de pratique
Description: L'énoncé de principes et les pratiques relatives à la vente de produits et services dans le secteur financier du Forum conjoint ont été élaborés par des autorités de réglementation de tous les territoires et provinces, à l'exception du Québec, et dans tous les secteurs des produits financiers. Il est prévu que ces principes et pratiques soient incorporés dans les codes de conduite des associations de l'industrie des services financiers et suivis par tous les intermédiaires du secteur dans la distribution des produits et services financiers.
Documents approuvés: Date de publication
Principes et pratiques le 28 janvier 2005
Guide du consommateur le 28 janvier 2005
Communiqué de presse le 28 janvier 2005
Historique le 28 janvier 2005
Lettre aux intervenants le 28 janvier 2005